My Uncle Spock by Estela Caballero

live-long-mr-spock-tobias-woelki

Even though the show always said Spock was Vulcan, I was sure he had some Mexican in him.  Side by side pictures of Spock and my dad beg the question, “Might they even be brothers?”  Don’t go nuts Trekkies, I know his mom was human and his dad was Vulcan.  Spock was a weekly visitor into our home.  Sure, it was just a show but we only had three channels, maybe four if we made my little brothers take turns holding the square shaped antennae just right.  The good shows were something we looked forward to.  It’s hard to explain to someone who can’t remember a time when you couldn’t pull up your shows, anything really, at any time.

Before I could tell time, I used tv shows as a reference.  As my mom would hurry out the door after making us food to eat while she was at work, she would ask me to recite the schedule of what she needed to make sure I did while she was at work.  If the potato processing plant she was working at needed extra people to cover the next shift, they would give employees little or no notice, often waiting until the last hour to tell them it was their turn for mandatory overtime.  There were no cell phones to call and check up on us during her breaks.  We didn’t always have a working land line.  “When________ ends, make sure you check you’re brother to see if he needs to be changed” or “Make sure you brothers and sister go to bed after ________.”

Star Trek was a marker and it’s possible the reason those old shows occupy a special place in my memories was because they were sometimes the only constant in rough waters.  Spock helped my dad learn English and he inspired me to think in a new way.  He gave my mom comfort in knowing his visit to our home would ensure her youngest got a fresh diaper if her oldest forgot.  He helped a little Mexican girl watch over her brothers and sister. I got to travel through space and go where no man has gone before.  A rapt audience sat quietly on the floor in front of the tv and couldn’t wait to see what strange new worlds were waiting.  Anything was possible, that’s for sure.

As you can see, Spock is probably at least half Mexican and/or my dad is half Vulcan.  Either way, that’s really how I used to tell time, by the shows. Don’t go all Mendel’s cross pollination on me.  The way it happened or percentages don’t matter–  look at those eyebrows.  I couldn’t photoshop it that close even if I wanted to.

aspock201mydad

Man holding rabbit ears

Spock Nacho and Spock Buddy
Nacho Spock and my brother Buddy Spock– his real name is Buddy. It was almost Buddy Love– true story coming soon!
Another brother--  Jaime Spock with my dad.
Another brother– Jaime Spock with my dad.

Spock art shamelessly plucked off the internet.

The rest is by Estela (probably part Vulcan) Garay-Caballero, me ❤

5 thoughts on “My Uncle Spock by Estela Caballero”

  1. Reblogged this on 4utu and commented:

    True story. To each and every person that takes time to visit 4utu and like or comment on the bits and pieces of a life…much love!

    Estela

    Like

Leave a Reply

