Don’t Ever Follow Your Dog’s Advice On Hair. Ever.

He usually has good advice

I’m all for taking inspiration from nature. Here’s an instance of taking it too far. My dog has beautiful color. He’s lucky– it’s natural. I had his beautiful coat in mind as I walked back and forth in the hair color aisle. I pulled out my cell phone a few times and held it up to the rows of hair dye boxes.  Sure, he was a dog but that doesn’t mean his fur isn’t a beautiful shade of wonderful.  Plus, he usually has good advice, like be leery of cats. He’s also a great judge of character and barks when he gets that “stranger danger” Spidey feeling.  Finally, I found one that looked like a close match for my soon to be new look.  If it looked half as good on me as it did on the dog, it would be golden– literally.  I was excited to get back home and start the hair makeover. The end result was less than natural. True story.

This had happened before–  I’m no stranger to hair gone wrong. My hair didn’t look so bad in the forgiving light of the bathroom.  It’s always dusky in there and a dim room does wonders for my hair and skin.  Everything always looks great in there.

Foiled again

The hair dye had only dyed the top section of hair.  It was like those tri-color popsicles that are shaped like a rocket.  Now before you say, “That’s not so bad,” the pictures didn’t do the vibrant orange section of the rocket justice.  It was a mix of gray and orange at the top, the rest of my hair did their own thing.  I needed them to work as a team and they turned on Plenty of time to thinkme.

The dog looked up at me several times and while I’ve never seen a dog laugh, I’m sure that’s what he did.  My husband once again proved his love by agreeing to go to the store and getting me a dark color to cover up.

What about bangs?
What about bangs?

As I waited for a new box of makeover magic, I had plenty of time to think about where I might have went wrong. I thought about calling the hair colorist expert at the number on the box. Instead, I reflected deeply. Perhaps the dog wasn’t the best person to ask about my new look. Imitation is the best form of flattery. He was pleased with himself.

As always, by Estela Caballero of 4utu.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

