My favorite kind of salsa

IMG_0269

Hey, when I’m busy I buy the salsa already made from the store.  We have lots of Mexican stores close by that sell nothing less than authentic salsa made fresh throughout the day.

When I have time I like making salsa and my favorite is the kind that starts out with jalapenos slowly roasting on a comal or griddle.  The chiles in the picture above spent about 30 minutes on low heat on comal with a little olive oil and a few pieces of garlic.

After they get to this stage you put them in a bowl with either boiled tomatoes or tomatoes that you roast the same way on the comal and mash them up– no blender.  If you have a molcajete, one of those stone bowls with the stone squisher, it works great.  I don’t have one right now but a bowl and the bottom of a cup work fine as the squisher!  I’m low tech and my kitchen is notoriously gadget free.

Enjoy!

One thought on “My favorite kind of salsa”

Leave a Reply

