A vague account of how to make bean tacos

4utu

Image

I used to do this with lard.  I know— but it’s the truth.  Lard was one of the staples in my family kitchen as far back as I can remember.  Most of the times it was the lard you buy in a bucket but sometimes it was lard harvested from a pig my dad would butcher.  We used almost everything.

The golden liquid in the pan is olive oil. You can make refried beans without any oil.  You just use the bean juice.  They taste great and I’m sure much healthier.  I heat up the olive oil and then throw in some onion and a few red dry chiles de arbol.  Caution, the chiles de arbol are hot and if you choose to use them, the resulting vapor can sting.  Interestingly, it doesn’t make the beans taste spicy hot.  It’s weird.  I like using onion and garlic.  It makes it…

View original post 211 more words

Leave a Reply

