Autism Tales: I Like Holland Just Fine

4utu

When I first found out Gustavo had autism I was given the phone number to a program called Parent to Parent.  I never called.  Thankfully they were persistent and knew something I did not.  I needed to talk.  I had questions that the doctor could not answer.  Some questions no one could answer.  I wondered if I had done something wrong while pregnant.  I spent hours thinking about what I might have eaten or drank that could have caused autism.  There is a story on this blog that tells more about those early days– Autism Tales: He Gets It From Me.

Image

Parent to Parent is a program that connects parents of children with special needs with parents of newly diagnosed children with special needs.  In the reading material Jennifer, my helping parent had left me I found this story on brightly colored paper.  I keep a copy folded in my…

View original post 388 more words

Leave a Reply

