The secret to a better life might be in your wallet

Want a better life?

I’ve struggled to reach goals. I always had a good reason. I could usually reason myself to feel better about missing the mark.

Over time, my goals grew deeper. I didn’t just want to get better at something or look better– I wanted to be a better person physically, mentally and spiritually. I wanted to make a positive difference in the lives of others. How could I do that if I wasn’t right with myself? My old reasons didn’t cut it anymore. Sure I had reasons but I realized that the consequences of missing the mark weighed heavier and began marring the quality of my life.

I received some advice that helped me. Find a picture of yourself as a child–start carrying it with you in your wallet. At the crossroads of intentional living and coasting, pull that picture out and ask yourself what that face looking back at you deserves.

Here’s to you. Here’s to life. You deserve the best– sometimes you just need a reminder not easily ignored. There is something about seeing yourself as a younger more vulnerable version of who you are now that makes you want to do right by you. You want the best for that person. It’s so easy to get caught up in making choices after thinking about how it will impact everyone else. We often forget or downplay ourselves in that process.

Our lives take us places we never thought we’d end up. Whether you are trying to decide whether you should leave an abusive relationship or eat healthier, seeing yourself in a different light can help you remember you are important and deserve happiness. You are the guardian of you. It’s not selfish to want to be happy. Trust me, the people who love you and care about you, want you to be happy and healthy. They are the same people who have probably given you the advice that is so hard to take– make the decision that’s best for you.

It’s your life. Drive!

One thought on “The secret to a better life might be in your wallet”

Leave a Reply

