Labor of Love: Handmade Goodness

On and on

A few weeks ago I posted a few squares of this beautiful mantel (tablecloth) my mother in law made for me.

I wanted to share a few more squares. It’s huge! I don’t think I could ever make something like this. She embroidered each square and crocheted the connecting pieces.

Many years ago my sister in law had one that my mother in law had made for her.  I hadn’t yet met my mother in law in person.  I had heard she was a wonderful cook, mother and artist with thread.  When she heard I had admired the one my sister in law had, she set to making me my own.  It is one of my most treasured possessions.  I think it always will be.

Created by my beautiful suegra (mother in law).  It's part of a piece of artwork in the form of a tablecloth she made for me.

3 thoughts on “Labor of Love: Handmade Goodness”

Leave a Reply

