Lupus and Me: El hombre y su hija

Lupus and Me:  El hombre y su hija

A picture of me with my dear dad and one of my favorite wigs.  I had more than a month of chemotherapy to treat a severe flare up of lupus under my belt.  It started working and I was becoming my old self.  I ended up losing almost 2 months of memory.  What remained of the occurrences during that time left me wondering if those memories were a bad dream– a nightmare.  My medical file burst that bubble in the first few pages.  I had lupus cerebritis– an autoimmune disease that was attacking my brain.  My brain responded with a red alert–  like other parts of the body, it will become inflamed to fight off infections.

Up to 80% of all people with SLE will report headaches, confusion, fatigue, memory impairment, difficulties expressing their thoughts, and occasional seizures or strokes throughout the course of their disease.  The scary part is that there isn’t an easy way to diagnose brain involvement even if you have been diagnosed with lupus.  Even small disturbances that can’t be detected with common windows into the body like MRIs, blood tests or even spinal fluid analysis, can cause a person to experience severe symptoms–  in more cases than I ever thought possible, it can result in death or permanent brain damage.

El hombre y su hija–  The man and his daughter.  He knew I was in there all along and made me believe it.

4 thoughts on “Lupus and Me: El hombre y su hija”

  1. Such a lovely picture, it definitely looks like you had a support you could lean on and this is exactly what you need in such a situation – while you have to find resources and energy, although this is difficult – your eyes “reveals” you – it seems clearly that you are stronger than you expect – best wishes from here… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

