Lupus and Me

Not too long after I took this picture with my son, my life would take a turn.  

Image

Lupus was part of me since the day I was born.  Many people, mostly women and mostly women of color, have the potential to experience lupus firsthand but never do.  It’s an autoimmune disease that doesn’t always activate in everyone.

I’m not a doctor.  I’m going to share my experience with lupus.  

Here is a picture of me after I met lupus.  That’s me in the purple.  It wasn’t lupus that changed my appearance so drastically.  It was the treatment.  Everyone’s experience is unique.  I fully recovered but it never goes away.  Just as the potential was there all along- it remains with me forever.  So will the lessons I learned along the way.  Under the cap is an almost bald head.

Image

I invite you to join me as I sing the Corrido of Estela Caballero.  I will post a new story each Saturday.  Here I am today with my husband.  

Family, friends and others who met me during this time of my journey often ask about the physical changes.  There were dramatic swings in my appearance.  My husband forever at my side.  Had it not been for the mirrors in my house, I never would have understood what made people get that look of shock when they saw me for the first time after I became ill.  My husband was my rock and the way he looked at me never changed.

 Image  

8 thoughts on “Lupus and Me”

  1. Thank you for visiting and following my blog “Eyes to Heart.” I wish you well on your journey with lupus. Most of us have some health issue we need to learn to manage. In my case it’s adrenal fatigue. Having a good support system around us makes the task so much easier. Kudos to your husband for being there for you. Be well, Dorothy 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m really touched by your story. I have the same thing going on right. I’m loosing all my hair and I’m really scared. I have had lupus and RA my whole life but never new until about 12 years ago. This is the worst its ever been. How did you deal with loosing your hair?

    Like

  3. I know I can where a wig but its still hard when I shower and and I have a hand full of hair. I’m not only loosing hair on my head but my whole body. My family is there but sometimes it is hard because they can’t completely understand me. Unless you have it you will never truly get it. I used to think I was a pretty women and now I hate to even look in a mirror. I cry every time I take a shower.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much Don. I am much better now and am so thankful I had the chance to share my story.

    It has been a great experience and I love meeting so many great people and hearing their stories!

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

